

Participants in the symposium at the Spring National ACS meeting, 2014, Dallas, TX, "Fifty Years of the James Flack Norris Award: The Foundations of Physical Organic Chemistry," presented in the HIST Division, cosponsored by NESACS, ORGN, and PRES. J. Seeman, Organizer, and E. Thomas Strom, Organizer. Arthur Greenberg led off the symposium with a talk on Norris. Then came talks from Norris Award winners Ned Arnett, Ronald Breslow, Andrew Streitwieser, John Brauman, Paul Schleyer, Kendall Houk, and Michael Wasielewski. The participants for the closing panel discussion on the topic, "Whither Physical Organic Chemistry," were John Baldwin, Ned Porter, Matthew Platz, Hans Reich, John Roberts, and Michael Wasielewski. Having this many Norris awardees in one place almost demanded a picture, so one was taken.

Those in the picture are, from left to right: Hans Reich, John Brauman, Michael Wasielewski, Kendall Houk, John Roberts, Matthew Platz, Ned Porter, Andrew Streitwieser, Arthur Greenberg, Paul Schleyer, and John Baldwin (Photo by E. T. Strom).